If You Love Someone, Give Them a Book

17 June, 2020
Giving away books is an act of love. Therefore, if you love someone, give them a book. This is because this is a gesture to offer them a whole universe of emotions, stories, knowledge, and. also. freedom. Choosing the right title for that special person also fuels this illusion.
If you love someone, give them a book. And if you have a friend whom you appreciate from the bottom of your heart, do it too. Just select a book and send it to them. Consider how a novel, an essay, a self-help manual, a cookbook, or a collection of stories are each a universe of knowledge. Books can enrich a person’s life and make them feel freer.
Every April 23 is World Book Day. You may not know it but this holiday is quite rich and diverse. Not only does it mobilize events, but it’s also great for approaching your favorite writers and reflect on their work. In addition, it’s a reminder of the rather commendable work of booksellers.
A world without books would be a sad world. It’d be like being lost in an empty palace and having no doors through which to step into the universe of learning, adventure, and discovery.
It’s always good to value these trades. As always, it’s also wise to discover new authors and open yourself to other genres in order to become aware of the never-ending literary melting pot.
After all, as Jorge Luis Borges said, of all the instruments invented by humans, books are the most amazing because they’re a wonderful extension of their memory and imagination.
“A book is more than a verbal structure or series of verbal structures; it is the dialogue it establishes with its reader and the intonation it imposes upon his voice and the changing and durable images it leaves in his memory. A book is not an isolated being: it is a relationship, an axis of innumerable relationships.”
-Jorge Luis Borges-
A set of lights over a book.

If you love someone, give them a book

There are bad books and unforgettable books. Also, there are books to hang out with for a little bit and others that change your life forever. Some help you discover new perspectives, others keep you glued to their police plots, while others you enjoy in spite of the chills of horror they produce.
Some people say there’s nothing like the first childhood and adolescence reads. They’re moments in which certain titles changed your life and also opened your minds to new passions, learning, and hobbies.
For instance, one can start by reading the works of Jules Verne and Arthur Conan Doyle and reach maturity while omnivorous in terms of genres, times, and authors.
Perhaps you fancy classics, such as Chekhov, or go back to Thomas Mann’s The Magic Mountain or discover the latest from Joël Dicker or Ian McEwan. What matters, after all, is the pleasure of immersing yourself in a sea of ​​letters and letting yourself go.
A student tells C. S. Lewis in the film Shadowlands that people read so as not to feel alone. It may or may not be true, but what publishers want, above all, is for people to read and the more they do, the better off they’ll be.
However, bibliophiles don’t make bookstores their second home just for the pleasure of reading. The actual value of books is that they offer an opportunity to think.

The art of selecting a book for someone special, a profound task

If you like someone, give them a book. Because these objects are more than just a cover with which to sandwich a series of paper sheets. There’s knowledge inscribed in them. Each page contains dozens of thoughts and reflections. If it’s a novel, you can share a limited but often unforgettable time with its characters and their intertwined emotions.
Generally, you don’t do randomly select a book when you think of giving one to someone. In fact, many people have the irreparable habit of selecting books that have already captivated them.
Thus, you want the person who’s going to receive your present to feel what you felt at the time you were reading it. You look forward to sharing experiences and traveling to the same places the plot described.
A woman reading a book.

If you like your significant other, your friend, your coworker, or your child… Give them a book!

There are books with which to understand the world and books that can teach and help you. There are those who entertain and there are also those who change your life forever. If there’s someone who, like you, is a bibliophile, then give them a book. Give them the last one that captivated you and you’ll never forget.
If you have a friend, family member, or coworker who prefers to watch movies instead of reading the books they’re based on, don’t give up. Give them a book! However, you should choose it well. Study their tastes and surprise them with a book that’ll intrigue them.
Similarly, if you have nephews, brothers, or friends with children, don’t hesitate and give a book to that boy or that girl, no matter how old they are.
If you love someone, give them a book. You’ll be doing them a favor, you’ll be giving them a key to travel, discover, be free, and fly high. When you discover the pleasure of reading during childhood there’s no turning back. It’s like a potion without an antidote but with palliative treatment: frequent readings and the more the merrier.
As Thomas Carlyle well said, sooner or later you’ll discover that books are friends who seldom disappoint. Keep them in mind, surround yourself with them, and never stop handing them out like candies.